Personal Gig Evaluation

So the other day I did my gig, so I have decided to write a basic review about what went well, what didn’t go well, and also what I would consider doing next time.

So first off, what went well. I think that the gig as a whole did go well, it ran mostly on time, all of the acts got on and off the stage quickly and efficientely, and everyone I spoke to said it went well and that it was an enjoyable event.

Although a lot of stuff did go well, there were some things that didnt go as well. The main thing was the sound guy, he decided to go to the shops and so because of that we started about 15 minutes late which was annoying but there wasnt much I could do about it so I just worked around it. And even though we started late it did run on time relative to that. The only other problem with timings was the last band on, Blues De La Ceaux, they only ran over there allocated time by about 5 minutes, but due to the late start the whole event ended about 20 minutes late.

I think that if I were to promote/put on another gig I would definetely be stricter about timings, so basically when we start and when all the bands change and when we end. This could be a challenge as there will be a lot of people around doing different things so making sure everyone is in the right place at the right time could be tricky, but if I can communicate with them well what they need to do and when then I think it can all go well.

Leave a comment